Lok Sabha 2019: Delhi BJP to announce names of candidates soon

5 min


Bharatiya Janta Party has already announced the names of its 286 candidates for Lok Sabha elections so far and is likely to announce the names of candidates from Delhi in a day or two.

Delhi BJP’s election committee on Friday shortlisted three names each for seven Lok Sabha seats in the National Capital Territory. “All the seven sitting party MP’s names have been included in the list which will be sent to the Central Election Committee for final selection of candidates,” said a leader who attended the meeting.

From New Delhi, names of sitting MP Meenakshi Lekhi, Delhi BJP in-charge and National Vice President Shyam Jaju, and Delhi BJP General Secretary Rajesh Bhatia have been shortlisted. Sitting MP and Union Minister Dr Harshvardhan, Leader of Opposition in Delhi Assembly Vijender Gupta, and Sudhanshu Mridul have been shortlisted for Chandni Chowk constituency.

ALSO READ: JNU: 5th day of hunger strike, one student Hospitalised

The names of MP Mahesh Girri, Aman Sinha, and Delhi BJP MLA O P Sharma from East Delhi constituency; sitting MP Parvesh Verma, Kamaljeet Sawant, and Pawan Sharma from West Delhi constituency; sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri, Ram Veer Bidhuri and Brahm Singh Tanwar from South Delhi Constituency; and the names of Udit Raj, Ashok Pradhan, Anita Arya from the reserved seat of North West Delhi have been shortlisted.

Manoj Tiwari’s name has been shortlisted for North East Delhi. Though, he is no longer the only celebrity in Delhi BJP.

With the recent entry of former cricketer, Gautam Gambhir speculations were that he would be given the New Delhi seat owing to his celebrity status.

However, his name has not been even included in the list prepared by the Delhi BJP’s Election Committee. In fact, according to some party leaders, objections were raised by party members over celebrities joining BJP for Lok Sabha seats ahead of elections.

Consensus on the names of shortlisted candidates was reached after several meetings between Delhi leaders and representatives of the national unit. A group of Delhi leaders met with BJP President Amit Shah on Thursday as well with a list of candidates.

But they were told to go back when it was found that Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari was not taken into confidence. So, another meeting was conducted on Friday which was chaired by Tiwari and the list was then sent to the National Election Committee.

The National Election Committee is headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah. Sources said that the committee might take into account the possibility of a joint opposition while finalizing the names.

You may also like to Read:

Manish Sisodia urges DU’s Vice-Chancellor to extend the tenure of governing bodies

Picture Credit: Google Images

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win
Shalu Bhati


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose A Format
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission